Kevin Myles the NAACP Southeastern Regional Field Director will be the keynote speaker at the 97th Annual Wichita Branch NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet, to be held Sat., Oct. 8, at the Wichita Marriott. The evening begins at 6 p.m. with a reception. The banquet starts at 7 p.m.

Myles, is familiar to Wichitans. The former Wichita Branch NAACP President was known for his local activism, prior to being hired by the NAACP Headquarters. In his current position, Myles provides training, guidance, and assistance to more than 600 active NAACP chapters in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. During his tenure on the National Staff, Kevin has also served as the Mid-Western Regional Field Director, and a term as the Interim National Field Director.

Under his nine-year direction, the Wichita Branch NAACP won eight National Thalheimer Awards for outstanding NAACP unit activities. Myles also served as president of the Kansas State Conference of the NAACP.

The list of honorees for this year’s dinner includes:

Joel Hudson, the HN Sims Excellence in Education Award

Pastor Cynthia Davis, Clergy of the Year

Bob Thompson, Janett Jackson Community Service Award

Attorney Robert Moody, Theo Cribbs Political Action Award

Larry Randle, Ron Walters Civic Leadership Award

Danielle Johnson, Chester I Lewis Distinguished Service

Wichita Black Nurses, Community/Neighborhood/Civic Association

Capitol Federal Savings, Business of the Year

Sheree Utash, Person of the Year

Legacy Awards will be presented to: Dr. Eric Sexton, Dr. Arthur DeHart, Fire Chief Ron Blackwell, Ann Garvey, and Richard Smart.

Tickets to the dinner are $65 each. You may also purchase ads for the annual souvenir book. For tickets or ads call Elaine at (316) 516-4734.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.