The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Wichita Branch will host their 101st annual Freedom Fund Awards Banquet on Sat. Oct. 29, at the Marriott Hotel, 9100 Corporate Hills, Wichita, starting at 6 p.m.

Leon W. Russell, chair of NAACP National Board of Directors, will be the guest speaker. 

Russell has over 30 years of public service, including serving as Director of the Office of Human Rights in ClearWater, Fla  He retired in 2012.

From 2007 to 2011, Russell was also president of the International Association of Official Human Rights Agencies (IAOHRA). 

About a dozen honorees will be recognized at the awards banquet.

2022 Honorees 

Clergy of the year-:Pastor C. Richard Kirkendoll

Janett Jackson Community Service:  Maggie Thompson

Chester I Lewis: Curtis Whitten

H N Sims Excellence in Education: Dr. Kevin Harrison

Ron Walters Leadership: Prisca Barnes

Community/Neighborhood: Black Coalition Alliance

Person of the Year: Dr. Richard Muma, President Wichita State University (WSU)

Billy D. Williams Servant Leadership Award: LaShonda Garnes

2022 “Legacy Award” Honorees

Harold Miller, Judge Jennifer Jones, 

Sheila Kinnard andDr. Anthony Turner

To purchase ticket, go here: