The Eta Beta Lambda Chapter of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. held its 23rd Annual Dr. Evies O. Cranford Scholarship Banquet on Feb. 29 at the Wichita Marriott.

During the evening five scholarships were given to local high school seniors. The big recipient was Sheila Mercy, who brought the entire audience to tears and to their feet as she received a $60,000 scholarship from Newman University.

An $800 scholarship was also given to Cameron Davis, Northeast Magnet. Each of the following received $500 scholarships: Larin Clement, East High; Dylan Overton, Northeast Magnet; and Kaylnn Casey, Wichita North.

The dual role of keynote speaker was shared by James Holland, a graduate of Jackson State, and Kianga Crowley, a graduate of Grambling State.

New this year, Lynn and David Gilkey of Rise Up For Youth received the Charles H. Chapman Humanitarian Award, and Danielle Johnson received the Annie C. Singleton Award.

The mistress of ceremonies for the banquet was Jasmine Haynes, reporter with KSN TV.

Receipent Kaylnn Casey was not in attendance.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.