Age: 26

Hometown: North Carolina

College: UNC-Chapel Hill

Years in the Industry: Three years

Where were you working before Wichita? Wilmington, North Carolina

How have you survived the industry? I think relying on my faith and also with the mindset that I have big goals that I would love to accomplish later in life.

Why did you choose to go into broadcasting? My mom is a journalist. She wrote for the News and Observer in Charlotte, North Carolina. I learned a lot from her and I knew that I wanted to be a journalist as well. 

What’s the hardest part of your job? The crunch time of editing highlights for a 10 p.m. show but the basketball or football game might not end until 9:30 p.m. I think that it’s hard but it is also thrilling to see how fast I can write, edit and then put the highlights together for viewers who might not have been able to see that game. It’s rewarding at the end of the day.   

What’s the easiest part of your job? I don’t know, that’s a hard one. I think maybe getting the chance to go to events and engage with viewers.

What do you like most about the Wichita market? I love the fans. I love how committed fans are to the teams around the Kansas area. When ’The Basketball Tournament’ came to Wichita, it was so amazing to see all the love and support for the three Kansas teams involved. I was blown away.

What is something that you want to do professionally that you haven’t done already? I would love to cover a Superbowl.

Tell us about your most memorable interview. I interviewed WSU track athlete Josh Cable a year after suffering serious burns from a house fire. His story is still ongoing because he hopes to get back to competing for the Shocker Cross-Country program. 

What’s next after Wichita? I don’t know yet.

What’s the toughest challenge for African Americans looking to make it in this industry? As an African American woman in sports, it’s hard to break into a male dominated industry. I work hard to make sure that I can be taken seriously and I think as a former Divion-I athlete I challenge myself to be the best at what I do every day.

How do you feel about being approached when you are in public? Selfies? Autographs? I don’t mind. I have always been told to be a” yes woman” early in your career. Always say yes to pictures and always be approachable.

What’s something interesting and fun about yourself that people may not know? I am terrified of heights and after my ACL surgery I always can feel when the weather is about to change.

Are you married? Have children? Not married  

Your choice of music? I love all kinds of music.

Were/are you an athlete? Yes, I was a track and field athlete for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *