Age: 33

Hometown: Kansas City, MO

College: Langston University

Years in the Industry: 11 years

Where were you working before Wichita? In Tulsa, OK for CBS Affiliate KOTV

How have you survived the industry? My desire to be the best I can because quitting is not an option

Why did you choose to go into broadcasting? I watched someone at the age of 13 years old covering sports in my hometown, he always seemed excited, I thought that’s what I want to do

What’s the hardest part of your job? Working on holidays and hardly getting to see your family

What’s the easiest part of your job? You never know what you’re going to report on

What do you like most about the Wichita market? People are pretty friendly here

What is something that you want to do professionally that you haven’t done already? I’d love to do a live report on a big story, locally or nationally

Tell us about your most memorable interview. That’s tough, but I’d have to say when I interviewed this 11-year-old boy who was hit by a semi-truck out of Garden City. I don’t get emotional too much but he was a very articulate young man. His humbleness and willingness to push through his pain inspired me.

What’s next after KWCH? I haven’t figured that out yet, wherever God wants me to shine at next and do his will.

What’s the toughest challenge for African Americans looking to make it in this industry? You have to watch what you say and who you say it to, speaking your mind is not the best option. Saying less is more. Watch your image, because people are always looking for a reason to cast you out. Also, not everyone is your friend, there are wolves disguised in sheep’s clothing.

How do you feel about being approached when you are in public? Selfies? Autographs? Honestly hardly anyone says anything to me, unless I’m in a KWCH shirt or jacket. I’m not bothered by taking pictures or anything like that. Of course, it depends on the situation and approach, but overall I’m a pretty calm person. I’d like to meet new people, everyone has a story.

What’s something interesting and fun about yourself that people may not know? Hmmm…well I love to dance and write music

Are you married? Have children? No I’m not married and don’t have any kids, but I pray to have both someday.  

Your choice of music? Depends on my mood, I like throwback R&B music and have to get my dose of gospel music to keep my mind in a good place.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *