The 33rd Annual Delta Sigma Theta Cotillion Formal Presentation was held on March 31 at the Kansas City Downtown Marriott Hotel. In an evening that celebrated the 21st Century Jewels & Gems of Excellence and their families, thirty high school seniors made their societal debut.

Throughout the Cotillion season, participants refined their goals and aspirations with a focus on academic achievement, community service, and cultural enrichment.

The Cotillion season and concluding program is jointly sponsored by the Kansas City, MO Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and the Foundation for Delta Education and Economic Development (DEED). Joining the celebration was Jacqueline A. Dillard, Central Region Director of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

The Grand Waltz and Dance Finale were choreographed by Elaina Paige Thomas. The evening concluded with the awarding of over $72,000 in scholarships to Cotillion participants. Each participant received $1,500 book scholarships. Additional scholarships were awarded in the areas of: essay competition, community service, The Mila A. Banks Award for Academic Excellence, ticket sales, and ads. In addition, reStart, Inc. recognized the 2018 Cotillion class as a recipient of its 2018 Outstanding Mission Partner Award.

The 2018 top Cotillion Winner was Hailey Brown. The overall 1st place Runner-ups were: Larryn Warren (Female 1st place runner-up) and Aaron Richardson (Male 1st place runner-up).

Cotillion Music was provided by The Amber Underwood Project. Commentators for the formal presentation were Qiana Thomason and Nikki Newton.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *