KU Black Alumni Network held their reunion Oct. 6-7 as part of the university’s annual homecoming events.

The weekend’s activities began with a golf tournament on Friday morning. That evening, Black alums participated in and enjoyed the KU Homecoming Parade in downtown Lawrence before heading to an awards reception on campus where the Mike and Joyce Shinn African-American Leaders & Innovators Awards were presented. Honored this year were: Nolan Ellison, c1963; William Fleming, III, c1972; Zelema Harris, c1972; Dwayne James, c1994; Curtis McClinton, c1962; Reggie Robinson, c1980; Walt Wesley, c1979; Andrew Williams, c1988 and Valdenia Winn, c1972.

The weekend continued with a tailgate party on the hill overlooking the football stadium. Alumni attended the game and also gathered for a party in the union.

During the Network’s business meeting, Deacon Thomas was elected president and Tamara Huff-Johnson was selected as president-elect.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.