NBA Social Justice
NBA Social Justice

The NBA announced Friday that Carmelo Anthony of the Portland Trail Blazers, Harrison Barnes of the Sacramento Kings, Jrue Holiday of the Milwaukee Bucks, Tobias Harris of the Philadelphia 76ers, and Juan Toscano-Anderson of the Golden State Warriors are the finalists for the inaugural Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award.

The award, named after the league’s all-time leading scorer Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, will be given to the player who best embodies Abdul-Jabbar’s pursuit of social justice while also advancing his mission of engaging, empowering, and driving equality for individuals and groups who have been historically marginalized or systematically disadvantaged.

The award finalists were chosen from an impressive pool of NBA team nominees who have upheld the league’s decades-long values of equality, respect, and inclusion. 

Each finalist has chosen a social justice organization to which a contribution will be made on his behalf. The winner’s choice will receive a $100,000 donation, while a $25,000 donation will be made to each of the social justice organizations selected by the other four finalists.  

The winner will be announced on TNT before Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Finals.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *