The Candidates.

Nathaniel McLaughlin is running for the U.S. House of Representatives 3rd district. The seat is currently held by Kevin Yoder.  McLaughlin’s competition in the primary is from Kevin Jay Sidie, owner of an investment firm, and Reggie Marselus, a retired electrician.  Yoder also has a competitor in the primary.  

Robert Tillman is running for the U.S. House of Representatives 4th District.  The position is currently held by Mike Pompeo who is seeking reelection.  In the primary, Tillman has competition from Daniel Grioux, a Wichita attorney.  Tillman also ran for this position in 2012.  

David Haley, has no competition in his bid for re-election to the 4th District Kansas Senate Seat in Kansas City.  

Oletha Faust-Goudeau has no competition in her bid for re-election to the 29th District Kansas Senate Seat in Wichita.  

Democratic newcomer Michelle Vann will take on the winner of the August Republican primary in the November race for Kansas 31st Senate District race.  The District covers much of northern Sedgwick County including Valley Center.  Vann is a recently retired school teacher and holds a PhD in Christian counseling.  She resides in Valley Center.  Seat incumbent Carolyn McGinn is seeking reelection, and will take on Mrs. Renee Erickson in the August primary.  

Dr. Valendia Winn has no competition in her bid for re-election to the 34th District Kansas House Seat, Kansas City.  

Broderick Henderson, the incumbent, has competition in his Democratic primary, to maintain his 35th District Kansas House Seat, Kansas City.  He is being opposed in the August primary by Kimberly Lampkin.   Henderson rarely has any opposition when he seeks reelection.  

Kimberly Lampkin, a data analyst, will take on incumbent Broderick  Henderson in the August Democratic Primary.  There is not a Republican candidate in this race for the Kansas House, so the winner of the primary should have an easy walk to the victory line.  

Willie Dove, an incumbent Republican representing the 38th District in the Kansas House, has two opponents in the August primary.  The District covers part of Leavenworth County, parts of Bonner Springs and Lansing; and part of Johnson County, including Gardner, Lenexa, and Olathe.  The candidate who wins the primary will be opposed by Mike Fonkert, the Democrat, who is an organizer for the Kansas Coalition Against the Death Penalty.  

Rep. Tony Barton, an incumbent Republication representing the 41st Kansas House District, does not have any opposition in the primary.  In the general election, he will be opposed by Democrat Jeff Pittman.  Pittman, who was raised in Leavenworth, has a Master’s Degree in Engineering from MIT and an MBA from Oxford University. 

Barbara Ballard, the 11-term incumbent Democrat representing the 44th House Seat, Lawrence, has an opponent in the August primary.  She is being opposed by Steven X. Davis a freelance writer, copy editor and math tutor from Lawrence.   The winner of the primary will face Republican Michael Lindsey, a retired ATT employee.  

Ben Scott, a Democrat who was appointed late last year to fill an unexpired term in the 58th Kansas House Seat, Topeka, has two Democratic opponents in the August primary.  One opponent is recently retired Municipal Court Judge Vic Miller.  His other opponent is Democrat Brett Kell.  There isn’t a Republican opponent in this race, so the winner of the primary is the likely winner.  

Gail Finney, the incumbent Democrat representing the 84th House Seat, Wichita, does not have an opponent.  

Kelechi “K.C.” Ohaebosim, a new candidate for the 89th House Seat, Wichita, does not have an opponent.  Incumbent Rod Houston did not seek reelection.  K.C. had previously ran for the 29th Kansas Senate seat in 2008 and 2012, but lost in the primaries.  This time, he’s an instant winner.  

Mark Dupree will take on incumbent Wyandotte County District Attorney Jerome Gorman in the August Primary.  Dupree, an attorney in private practice, is a Kansas City native with deep roots in the community.